Chapter 9 – “Behold … let it be done unto me…”

I was taking a look at the youth catechism, Youcat, and began to reflect on the question, “What does the Holy Spirit do in my life?”  The short answer given is, “The Holy Spirit makes me receptive to God; he teaches me to pray and helps me to be there for others.”  It went on to say, “Augustine calls the Holy Spirit “The quiet guest of our soul.”  Anyone who wants to sense his presence must be quiet. … The more receptive we are to the Holy Spirit in us, the more he becomes the master of our life, the sooner he will bestow on us even today his charisms for the upbuilding of the Church.”  This really highlights that the Spirit working in us isn’t only for our benefit.  The example that really brings this home for me is what we see in Mary, who was totally open to the work of God and responded with an unqualified Yes to his will.  With that the Holy Spirit came upon her to bring about the Incarnation!  What a model she is for a Yes to the Holy Spirit; her life didn’t subsequently become easy, but she was strengthened by that same abiding/flowing/active/life-giving Holy Spirit.  May I be more like her.  (Laurie E.)

About Fanning The Flame

FTF is a 125th Anniversary Journey of Faith of the Diocese of Belleville through the United States Catholic Catechism for Adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter 9 – “Behold … let it be done unto me…”

  1. Pingback: Obeying the Spirit of God | YOU DECIDE

  2. Pingback: Change…Sacred…Management or how I discovered I may be a Pentecostal « A Robin Hood's Musing

Comments are closed.