Chapter 3 – Quick Reflection

When I was growing up, and especially as I revealed to others that I was considering becoming a priest, I was once asked, “How do you know what you believe?  How do you know that it is trustworthy?”  Well, unable to answer this fully myself, I went to my father as I often did in matters of faith and life.  Part of his answer was that we were Catholic and this is what we believe and live as one might expect him to respond, but it also went deeper.  He wanted to know what the person seemed to be asking me.  He explained that there was the constant history and witness of our Faith over the last 2000 years.  And he said that both God and men testify to the same Truth.  Finally, he stated that is just makes sense, from which I took that the Faith was reasonable and did not contradict our reflected experience.

Indeed, this is a very good question to Roman Catholics, how do we know what we believe?  And how can we be sure that we can trust it?  (Fr Robert Zwilling)

About Fanning The Flame

FTF is a 125th Anniversary Journey of Faith of the Diocese of Belleville through the United States Catholic Catechism for Adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 3 – Quick Reflection

  1. Laurie Edwards says:

    One of my favorite little parts of this short reflection is the simplicity of the comment, “unable to answer this fully myself, I went to my father as I often did in matters of faith and life.” I pray for our families, the young people and the parents (including my husband and myself and our teenage kids) that this kind of trust/communication will be nurtured; that the youth will be willing to ask and parents be equipped and available to answer (or seek together answers for) the deeper questions of faith and life.

Comments are closed.