Chapter 2 – Metanoia

“God Comes to Meet Us.”  I thought about our chapter while at Mass this morning, the reading from Jonah and the repentance of the Ninevites, and the disciples turning from their work to follow Jesus to become “fishers of men.”   When we are alert to God’s revealing himself to us, and are responsive to him, our lives change.  But something that was highlighted in the homily was that in Greek the word to repent (metanoia) also means to change one’s mind.  Both the USCCA chapter and the Sunday readings really are an invitation (or challenge) to seek what God is revealing to us about himself, about his thoughts, his desire/design for us/his opinion on issues of the day – especially as they relate to how we are to live out our lives consistent with the dignity that comes with being created in his image.  Then we are challenged to be ready to change our minds, conforming them to God’s desires/designs/opinions.  God comes to meet us, but it is a meeting after which we shouldn’t expect to remain unchanged!  (Laurie E.)

About Fanning The Flame

FTF is a 125th Anniversary Journey of Faith of the Diocese of Belleville through the United States Catholic Catechism for Adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 2 – Metanoia

  1. Barb says:

    They not only left their work. They left their families, their homes, lives that they were used to, comfortable with. Talk about faith!
    I didn’t know that the Greek word repent (metanoia) also means to change one’s mind. Changing one’s mind isn’t always easy. I guess what this tells us, or at least it tells me, that I must open my eyes, my ears and my heart so that I hear if I am called, when I am called. I pray that I am ready and willing to make the change. I certainly wouldn’t want to turn a deaf ear.

Comments are closed.