Chapter 1- When were you first aware…?

On the study sheet for Chapter 1, Mickey asked when we first became aware of God’s presence in our life.  Hopefully others will share, but as a start…..  While I was baptized as an infant in the Methodist Church, and would say that was the beginning of my spiritual journey, my first awareness of God’s presence was as a youngster of just over three years old.  We had recently moved (an Air Force family) and were visiting friends of my parents.  I was on their apartment balcony and my loneliness must have looked sad when a woman asked me what the matter was.  Upon me saying I had no friends, she told me there was a friend who I could always talk to and who would always be with me and his name was Jesus.   And I believed her.  Having that profound confidence, that childhood trust, of never being friendless, of never being alone, has been a gift of faith ever since, even when I wasn’t very faithful….  In time I would add words like Redeemer, Abba Father, Lord, Immanuel, Bread of Life, and many others, but Friend and is the word I return to when I feel closest to Jesus.    (Laurie Edwards, FTF core team member)

About Fanning The Flame

FTF is a 125th Anniversary Journey of Faith of the Diocese of Belleville through the United States Catholic Catechism for Adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter 1- When were you first aware…?

  1. J. says:

    I don’t remember my first, but I do remember my most hair raising. I was asked to attend an RCIA meeting. I had converted a few months before and my sponsor’s husband was speaking at a meeting about mystagogia. The speaker talked about an experience at a mass when someone was welcomed into the church. He described many things about that mass. The reading of the Nicene creed most particularly caught my ear, that the new member read it with emotion and conviction, something that struck him as he had read and said that creed many times in his life, but not in this way. He described the small number in attendance but the feeling that the room was packed to the rafters. I could go on about the details, but in essence, He said that in that moment he felt God. Afterward, I went up to tell him that I too had had a similar experience. When I converted and came into the church, I who have a tremendous fear of public speaking, stood up and said the Creed, I thought I would falter and fall, but standing there it felt like I was being held up, there was a presence behind me that supported me. It was a unique experience, I thought. After I finished thanking him for sharing his experience, the hairs on my neck raised, the gentleman looked me straight in the eye and said, “I know, it was you I was talking about.” I thank God for that experience, and for it being one shared with others.

  2. Laurie Edwards says:

    Dear J. , The experience you describe about feeling like the room was packed to the rafters brought to mind the verse, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us rid ourselves of every burden and sin that clings to us and persevere in running the race that lies before us” (Hebrews 12:1) !

  3. J. says:

    Laurie,

    That is a very appropriate verse. Amen!

Comments are closed.